The Transylvania Times -


Cycling Team National Champions Again – Brevard NC


The Brevard College Cycling Team are national champions again. (Courtesy photo)

The Brevard College cycling team won its second consecutive Division II Collegiate Cyclocross National Championship this past weekend, tallying a total of 282 points in the three-day event.

"I'm really proud of this team," said head coach Brian Sheedy. "Everybody raced incredibly well."

Colorado Mesa University, the event's runner-up, managed 220 points while Ripon College took third place with 176 points.

Lewis Gaffney helped the Tornados finish strong on Sunday by winning the men's Individual Division II Cyclocross National Championship with a time of 49:37.

"Lewis Gaffney was certainly a highlight. He's an awesome teammate and works very hard," said Sheedy. "He deserved this win, and we're all so proud and excited for him."

Zachary Valdez also landed in the top 10 of the men's Individual race with a 9th place finish, while Caleb Welborn (19th) and Keith Marek (24th) rounded out BC's top 25 finishers.

Erica Zaveta took second in the women's Individual Division II race with a time of 40:27, while BC's Allison Arensman grabbed third. Two other Tornados finished in the top 25 as Sarah Hill and Nicole Miranda finished 10th and 16th, respectively.

BC's relay team, consisting of Gaffney, Valdez, Arensman, and Zaveta, got the Tornados off to a strong start by winning Friday's Team Relay with a time of 36:44, which was more a minute in front of second-place Ripon.

Last fall, the BC cycling team won its fourth Division II Collegiate Mountain Bike National Championship in the past five years.

Rendered 03/04/2016 18:04