The Transylvania Times -

County Students Selected For Honors Chorus – Brevard NC


Last updated 11/27/2013 at 9:05am

BMS honors chorus members Mathew Sharpsteen, Meredith Hooper, Claire Griffin and Emily Sheffield.

Brevard was well represented at this year's North Carolina Music Educators' Association Conference, held in Winston-Salem from November 9th-12th. Over 1,000 music educators from across the state attend this conference each year to meet and collaborate with colleagues, visit music exhibits, and continue their professional development through sessions, classes, and meetings.

One of the most inspirational components of the conference are the Honors Ensembles. At the elementary, middle, and high school levels, students audition for a spot in these prestigious choruses. If they are selected, they spend additional time working with their chorus teacher to learn the music for the concert.

When the students arrive in Winston-Salem, they sing in a rigorous rehearsal schedule with other selected students from across the state, under the direction of nationally-known guest conductors. Performances were held in the University of North Carolina School of the Arts' Stevens Center.

This year, all three Brevard area schools had students chosen to participate in Honors Chorus. From Brevard Elementary School, Anna Long, a 5th grader, represented her school in this event. Under the direction of guest conductor Stephen Roddy, founder of the Houston Children's Choir, the program included such songs as "Poor Wayfarin' Stranger," "Psalm 100," and "Alphabetiks." Anna is a student of Sarah Moser, music teacher at Brevard Elementary.

Brevard Middle School students Iris Deyman, Sabra Freeman, Claire Griffin, Meredith Hooper, Mathew Sharpsteen, and Emily Sheffield were selected for the Middle School Honors Chorus. The entire BMS chorus, under the direction of Rivers Smith, was also invited to perform for other music teachers during the conference.

BHS honors chorus members Karven Morgan, Madeleine Lefler, Tyler LaRowe, Kristy Stodola, John Smith, Mary Beth Shumate, Brandon Zerressen.

Tyler LaRowe, Madeline Lefler, Karven Morgan, John Smith, Kristy Stodola, and Brandon Zerressen from Brevard High School were selected from over 1,000 students across the state to sing with the 180 voice High School Honors Chorus. The BHS students sing in the Brevard High School Concert Chorus under the direction of Mary Beth Shumate.

The National Association for Music Education (NAfME) is the parent organization for the North Carolina Music Educators' Association. A teacher's membership in both organizations is a prerequisite for student participation in this special event.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 08/14/2020 04:14