The Transylvania Times -

Tornados Place Third In Omnium, Capture Relay Title


January 15, 2018

Courtesy photo

It was another solid performance for the Brevard College Cyclocross team last week as the Tornados repeated as national champions in the team relay event and placed third in the overall team omnium at the USA Cycling National Championships. As part of the team, Hannah Arensman won the Division I Collegiate Cyclocross National Championship, becoming the first cyclist in BC history to accomplish the feat.

The Brevard College cyclocross team returned to the course Thursday afternoon and placed third in the overall Varsity Team Omnium at the USA Cycling National Championships.

The Tornados, who accumulated 214 points, finished just off the pace set by Marian University, which came in first.

Brevard's team was edged out for second by Fort Lewis College in the event.

In the team relay, which consisted of all varsity Division I teams, Brevard won the event and in the process successfully defended their national championship in the team relay event.

Among the riders in the event, which consisted of four riders (two men / two women) on each team, the Tornados received a major lift from Hannah Arensman, who raced two laps on three occasions.

Also participating were Carson Beckett and Scott McGill.

This victory comes one day after Arensman captured the Division I Collegiate Cyclocross National Championship on Wednesday afternoon.

Arensman becomes the first individual to compete and capture a Division I collegiate racer to bring home the national championship in Brevard's Cyclocross program history at the USA Cycling sponsored event.

The Tornados have multiple Division II collegiate racers to earn the title in its history.

While Arensman was the lone Tornado to reach the podium, three of her teammates were among the top 20 finishers in the race.

They include Beckett, who finished just outside the top 10 in 11th, McGill (15th) and Tyler Orschel (16th).


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019