The Transylvania Times -

VVA Presents Two Awards To Transylvania Residents - Brevard NC


November 19, 2018

Michel Robertson and Vietnam Veterans Association member Ben Maultsby, representing the Transylvania County Honor Guard, receive awards. (Courtesy photo)

On Nov. 13, the Vietnam Veterans Association, Chapter 124, presented two awards to Transylvania residents at the Charles George VA Medical Center in Asheville. The chapter presented certificates of appreciation to Michel Robertson and to the Transylvania County Honor Guard.

The chapter recognized Robertson for her support of Vietnam veterans, especially through media promotion of the Vietnam Veterans Memorial at the Medical Center, notifying Vietnam veterans throughout WNC of the new memorial and its dedication ceremony on Friday, Sept. 28, 2018.

The Transylvania Honor Guard was recognized for honoring veterans throughout the year and for their Honor Guard performance at the new memorial's dedication ceremony.

WNC Military History Museum board member Robertson accepted the award on behalf of the Honor Guard.

The goals of the Vietnam Veterans Association (VVA) are to promote and support the full range of issues important to Vietnam veterans, to create a new identity for this generation of veterans, and to change public perception of Vietnam veterans.

VVA strives to achieve the following:

•Aggressively advocate on issues important to veterans

•Seek full access to quality health care for veterans

•Identify the full range of disabling injuries and illnesses incurred during military service

•Hold government agencies accountable for following laws mandating veterans health care

•Create a positive public perception of Vietnam veterans

•Seek the fullest possible accounting of America's POWs and MIAs

•Support the next generation of America's war veterans

•Serve our communities.

A founding principle of the VVA is "Never again will one generation of veterans abandon another."


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018