The Transylvania Times -

State Lifts Open Burning Ban


Last updated 4/13/2020 at 5:14pm

Effective today, April 13, the N.C. Forest Service has lifted a ban on all open burning for the following counties in western North Carolina: Transylvania Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Gaston, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Iredell, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Union, Watauga, Wilkes and Yancey. The burn ban went into effect on April 3 due to hazardous forest fire conditions in the area.

While burn permits are now available in those counties, N.C. Forest...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020