The Transylvania Times -

Denounce Violence


Last updated 1/20/2021 at 4:35pm

Much of America and the world watched in horror as the events unfolded in Washington, D.C., on Jan. 6, as the states’ electoral votes were being certified by Congress. A violent mob, stoked by President Trump and encouraged by some Congressional members, including Madison Cawthorn, breached the U. S. Capitol, illegally entering the building, destroying property and putting the lives of Congressional members and staff in grave danger. The actions of these domestic terrorists resulted in the deaths of five people and was an assault on the democratic foundation of our nation.

In days since this insurrection, threats of violence against Congress, statehouses, and many political leaders – Republicans and Democrats – have been voiced. We denounce political violence, regardless of its target. Violence against political opponents has no place in a democratic republic, or in a nation with deep roots in Christian, Jewish and other moral traditions.

Those who have stirred violence against their colleagues should be held accountable for fomenting the Jan. 6 riot, as well as for the ongoing threats of violence based on the president’s fraudulent claim of a “stolen election.” He made this claim months before the election and has perpetuated it despite numerous recounts, certifications by six battleground states, and 68 failed lawsuits before more than 90 state and federal judges, including his own appointees. Even Attorney General Barr said the election was free from any wide-spread voter fraud.

We condemn this terrorist attack. We urge people of all religions and political views to condemn the use of violence against their opponents. Going forward, we must find other ways to disagree. Our churches and other religious organizations are responsible for helping us do this.

The following signatories are members of the Religious Affairs CommitteeNAACP of Transylvania County: Rev. Carter Heyward, Chair; Kathleen Barnes, Suzanne Comer Bell, Donna Dukes, Rev. Rob Field, Rev. Anne B. Gilson, Joanne Green, Rev. John Hobbs, Rev. Jackie Jenkins, Susan Lefler, Rev. Diane Livingston, Judy Nebrig, Sue Null and Rosalynd Storer.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020

Rendered 02/06/2021 11:54